Jesus!

jesus_church.jpg

The sign on this church in Park Slope, Brooklyn, disappeared for a while during the autumn and has recently returned. I can’t help muttering “Jesus!” under my breath each time I walk past. Since most churches in New York seem obsessed with hyperbolic signs, you have to wonder what compelled this congregation to go with something so simple. Did they feel it had all been said before ? Or is “Jesus” the ultimate marketing slogan, the theological equivalent of Nike’s swoosh and the Intel jingle?

December 14, 2007. Divine Signs.

One Comment

  1. Lois replied:

    I saw this too, around Thanksgiving 2007, when I was visiting my daughter in Park Slope. I took a picture, but I never posted it or shared it because I didn’t know how I felt about it. I’m not into Jesus, particularly, although I respect the guy. I didn’t really want to make fun of it. I like it. It’s brief and to the point. I, too, can’t help but utter, “JE-sus!” to myself whenever I see the picture. It was nice to see it again. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

